-SELBY DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the proceedings of an Extraordinary meeting of the Council held on 11 June 2008, in the Civic Suite, the Civic Centre, Portholme Road, Selby, commencing at 6:00 pm.

| 61 | Eco Towns | | |
|----|-----------|--|--|

- Present: Councillor J Thurlow (Chairman) in the Chair
- Councillors: Mrs E Casling, J Cattanach, I Chilvers, M Crane, Mrs D Davies, M Davis, J Deans, Mrs S Duckett, Mrs J Dyson, K Ellis, D Fagan, Mrs C Goodall, Mrs M Hulme, Mrs G Ivey, C Lunn, D N Mackay, Mrs P Mackay, B Marshall, W N Martin, J McCartney, Mrs M McCartney, Mrs K McSherry, Mrs C Mackman, J Mackman, C Metcalfe, Mrs E Metcalfe, R Packham, B Percival, A Pound, Mrs S Ryder, R Sayner, S Shaw-Wright, Mrs A Spetch, R H Sweeting.
- Officials: Mr S Martin, Strategic Director, Mr J Lund, Strategic Director, Head of Service – Finance and Central Services, Head of Service – Housing, Head of Service – Policy and Performance, Head of Service – Environmental Health and Leisure, Head of Service – Development Services, Development Policy Manager, Principal Planning Officer (LDF), Media and Corporate Communications Manager, Democratic Services Officer and Committee Administrator.
- Public: 8
- Press:

Councillor R Sweeting offered opening prayers.

59 Apologies for Absence

2

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors W Inness, M Jordan, Mrs W Nichols, I Nutt, C Pearson and Mrs D White.

60 Disclosure of Interest

Councillors Mrs D Davies, Marshall, N Martin and Shaw-Wright indicated that as they were members of the Planning Committee they would abstain from voting in relation to Minute 61 below.

In response to a question Mr Lund reiterated the advice given in his letter to Councillors dated 28 May 2008 relating to interests but indicated that Councillors were free to choose to abstain if they wished.

> Extraordinary Council 11 June 2008

61 Eco Towns

Councillors received the report of the Chief Executive and a presentation by S Martin, Strategic Director giving them an opportunity to debate Government plans for an Eco Town in the Leeds City Region in general and within Selby District in particular.

The report identified four sites within Selby District which had been identified as potential sites for an Eco Town:

Willow Green, Eggborough Burn (airfield site) Gascoigne Wood (former mine site) Church Fenton (airfield site)

The matter would be considered at a meeting of the leaders of the Leeds City Region on 12 June 2008 and the Council was requested to provide the leader with a remit for this meeting.

Resolved:

That having considered all the facts presented to us concerning the four sites identified for a potential Eco Town in Selby District this Council instructs its leader at the meeting of Leeds City Region on the 12 June 2008 to totally reject any Eco Town in Selby District.

At the request of Councillors and in accordance with Standing Order 5.27D the names of Councillors voting for, against and abstaining are as follows:

For: (28) Casling, Cattanach, Chilvers, Crane, Deans, Dyson, Ellis, Fagan, Goodall, Hulme, Ivey, Lunn, D Mackay, P Mackay, C Mackman, J Mackman, J McCartney, M McCartney, McSherry, C Metcalfe, E Metcalfe, Packham, Percival, Pound, Ryder, Sayner, Spetch and Thurlow.

Against: (1) Davis

Abstained: (6) Davies, Duckett, Marshall, Martin, Shaw-Wright and Sweeting.

The meeting closed at 7:20 pm.

Extraordinary Council 11 June 2008