

Summons and Agenda for the

# Extraordinary Council Meeting

to be held on

# TUESDAY 1 DECEMBER 2015

at

5.00pm





To: All District Councillors

cc: Chief Officers
Directors

You are hereby summoned to an extraordinary meeting of the Selby District Council to be held in the Civic Centre, Doncaster Road, Selby on **TUESDAY 1 DECEMBER 2015** starting at **5.00pm.** The Agenda for the meeting is set out below.

Mary Weastell Chief Executive

Mukastell

Recording is allowed at Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public, subject to:- (i) the recording being conducted under the direction of the Chairman of the meeting; and (ii) compliance with the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at meetings, a copy of which is available on request. Anyone wishing to record must contact, prior to the start of the meeting, Palbinder Mann – Democratic Services Manager via <a href="mailto:pmann@selby.gov.uk">pmann@selby.gov.uk</a> or 01757 292207. Any recording must be clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and be non-disruptive.

# **AGENDA**

# 1. Apologies for Absence

To receive apologies for absence.

# 2. Disclosures of Interest

A copy of the Register of Interest for each Selby District Councillor is available for inspection at www.selby.gov.uk.

Councillors should declare to the meeting any disclosable pecuniary interest in any item of business on this agenda which is not already entered in their Register of Interests.

Councillors should leave the meeting and take no part in the consideration, discussion or vote on any matter in which they have a disclosable pecuniary interest.

Councillors should also declare any other interests. Having made the declaration, provided the other interest is not a disclosable pecuniary interest, the Councillor may stay in the meeting, speak and vote on that item of business.

If in doubt, Councillors are advised to seek advice from the Monitoring Officer.

# 3. Appointment of Honorary Alderwomen

To receive a report regarding the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderwoman, and to consider conferring the title on two former members of the Council. Pages 1 to 4 attached.



# **Public Session**

Report Reference Number: C/15/9 Agenda Item No: 3

To: Extraordinary Council Date: 1 December 2015

Author: Palbinder Mann, Democratic Services Manager

Lead Officer: Mary Weastell, Chief Executive Executive Lead: Mark Crane, Leader of the Council

**Title:** Appointment of Honorary Alderwomen

# **Summary:**

Following previous elections, it has been customary to consider whether any individuals qualify for the position of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman. In line with legislation and the Council's previously adopted criteria, former Councillors Doreen Davies and Melanie Davis qualify for consideration to be appointed as Honorary Alderwomen by Selby District Council.

#### Recommendations:

To consider and decide whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on the following former District Councillors:

- Doreen Davies
- Melanie Davis

#### Reasons for recommendation

To ensure Council recognises individuals who have rendered eminent services to the Council.

#### 1. Introduction and background

1.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 states that the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman may be conferred by the District Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council. For the title to be conferred a specially convened meeting of Council must be held and a resolution must be passed by not less than two thirds of the Councillors voting at the Council meeting. Although the original Act did not

- mention the title of Honorary Alderwoman, this was introduced in the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.
- 1.2 In addition to the legislation, the Council adopted criteria in February 1984 which stated that a Councillor would have to have provided 25 years' service to the Council to qualify for consideration for appointment to the position of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman. The criteria was then discounted by one year in respect of each year the individual served as Chairman of the Council.
- 1.3 The first Honorary Alderman was appointed at a special meeting on 24 May 1984. A full list of individuals who have been conferred with the honour can be seen at Appendix A.
- 1.4 In August 1999, the Council resolved to reduce the length of service threshold from 25 years to 20 years.

# 2 The Report

- 2.1 Melanie Davis served on the District Council for 24 years from 1991 to 2015. From 1991 to 2003 she represented the Selby Central ward and from 2003 to 2015 she represented the Selby North ward.
- 2.2 Doreen Davies served on the District Council for 20 years from 1995 to 2015.
  During this time she represented the Selby South ward
- 2.3 Neither of these Councillors has held the position of Chairman of Council therefore there is no requirement to reduce the length of service by one year.
- 2.4 Should any of the above nominees seek re-election in the future, the legislation states any person appointed as Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman and still serving as a Councillor shall not be entitled to be addressed as Alderman or Alderwoman and shall not take part in any civic ceremonies in that role.

# 3 Legal/Financial Controls and other Policy matters

# Legal Issues

3.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 outlines the requirements and the process for appointing Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen.

# **Financial Issues**

3.2 There are costs associated with purchasing a certificate and a plaque to be given to anyone appointed however these costs will be met from the Democratic Services budget.

# 4. Conclusion

4.1 The Council can consider whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman upon former Councillors, Melanie Davis and Doreen Davis in recognition of the eminent service to the District Council that they have rendered and their length of service. For the honours to be approved Councillors will have to vote with a two thirds majority at the meeting for a resolution to that effect.

# 5. Background Documents

None

Contact Officer:

Palbinder Mann Democratic Services Manager pmann@selby.gov.uk ext 42207

# **Appendices:**

Appendix A – List of Individuals who have been conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman

Name	Length of service	Appointed Alderman
Ernest Britton	28	24 May 1984
Cyril Coultish MBE	45	11 Jul 1991
Donald Hesse	24	11 Jul 1991
Harold Hick MBE	40	12 Dec 1995
Joseph M. Bramley	36	12 Dec 1995
Leslie Cunliffe	26	12 Dec 1995
Richard E Britton	29	26 Mar 1996
Kenneth Woodward	20	14 Dec 1999
John Wesbter	20	14 Dec 1999
Gordon Holmes	22	14 Dec 1999
Raymond Carr	22	14 Dec 1999
Jim Deans	22	14 Dec 1999
Malcolm Johnson	20	14 Dec 1999
Squire Bradbury	31	14 Dec 1999
Roy Wilson	22	14 Dec 1999
Trevor Limbert	21	14 Dec 1999
Jack Heppenstall	20	14 Dec 1999
Geoff G. Lynch	27	08 May 2001
Arthur Cawood	42	12 Aug 2003
Mrs Rachel Cunliffe	24	12 Aug 2003
William J. Harrison	20	12 Aug 2003
Mrs Pam Odell	24	09 Dec 2003
Maurice Patrick	42	12 Sep 2006